It is legal to use hemp-derived CBD oil in Utah since 2018. According to House Bill 3001, CBD oil products containing 0.3% THC is legal in the state of Utah. The Utah Medical Cannabis Act also legalized medical marijuana for people with specific medical conditions.
The main reason for the legalization of CBD is the health benefits it provides. Major uses of cannabidiol include the treatment of stress, depression, chronic pain, epilepsy, migraines, insomnia, skin problems, etc.
What Is CBD?
CBD is a cannabinoid compound present in the hemp and marijuana plants. It was discovered in the year 1940 and today we know that CBD has a lot of therapeutic properties, which will help in the treatment of several health disorders.
CBD is a non-psychoactive cannabinoid. That means you won’t get a euphoric sensation if you consume it. There are different types of CBD products available in the market. Most of these products are made using CBD isolate or broad-spectrum CBD, which does not contain any THC.
Legality Of CBD In Utah
The hemp-derived CBD products became legal in the state of Utah after the passing of House Bill 3001 in December 2018. Earlier, you needed a hemp extract registration card for purchasing CBD products. Today, non-patients can also buy CBD products in Utah as long as the THC content in the product is less than 0.3%.
The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food demand the hemp growers, processors, and sellers to be licensed every year. You won’t get a license if you are ever convicted of a drug felony. The state will also impose fines ranging from $100 to $5000 to the hemp growers, processors, and sellers if they violate any state CBD laws.
All the CBD products should be tested and labeled, and the testing of the products should be done in a state facility. During the test, the quality of the CBD and THC will be verified and also the presence of other cannabinoids listed on the label of the products. The lab testing will also look for other contaminants in the CBD product.
Until today, there is no possession limit for the hemp-derived CBD products in the state of Utah. However, there are possession limits for marijuana-derived CBD products. According to the law, patients with a medical marijuana card who are using marijuana-derived CBD products for the treatment may obtain a 30-day supply of CBD products.